Volume Two: The Music

New Recordings
Spirit & Time

A double LP containing 60+ minutes of new, unreleased and exclusive recordings.

Side A
1. Warrior – Brian Blade & The Fellowship Band

Myron Walden (alto saxophone), Melvin Butler (tenor saxophone), Jon Cowherd (piano), Christopher Thomas (bass), Brian Blade (drums)

2. Civilization/Citadel – Kendrick Scott Oracle

John Ellis (soprano saxophone), Mike Moreno (guitar), Taylor Eigsti (piano), Ben Williams (bass), Kendrick Scott (drums)

Side B
1. City of Lights – Tony Allen

Sylvain Gontard (trumpet), Irving Acao (tenor saxophone), Jean Phil Dary (piano, keyboards, organ), Mathias Allamane (bass), Tony Allen (drums)

2. Native Heart – Chris Dave And The Drumhedz

Gregoire Maret (harmonica), Marcus Strickland (tenor saxophone, bass clarinet), Bobby Sparks (keyboards), Daniel Crawford (organ, piano), Pino Palladino (bass), Derrick Hodge (bass), Chris Dave (drums)

Side C
1. Life Of The Party – Nate Smith

Jaleel Shaw (alto saxophone), Brad Williams (guitar), Jon Cowherd (piano), Ben Williams (bass), Nate Smith (drums)

2. Takin’ My Time – Eric Harland

Chris Turner (vocals), Joshua Redman (tenor saxophone), James Francies (keyboard, piano), Reuben Rogers (bass), Eric Harland (drums)

3. Creatures Of Conscience – GoGo Penguin

Chris Illingworth (piano), Nick Blacka (bass), Rob Turner (drums)

Side D
1. Juicy Fruit (live) – Tony Williams

Wallace Roney (trumpet), Bill Piece (tenor saxophone), Mulgrew Miller (piano), Ira Coleman (bass), Tony Williams (drums)

2. The Alternate Announcements (live) – Tony Williams

From The Vault
Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers – Africaine
Bobby Hutcherson – Patterns

The album was recorded on March 14, 1968, but not first released until 1980. Four of the album’s six compositions were written by Chambers, the drummer and composer who was a key collaborator of Hutcherson’s throughout the 1960s.

Bobby Hutcherson (vibraphone), James Spaulding (alto saxophone, flute), Stanley Cowell (piano), Reggie Workman (bass), Joe Chambers (drums)

Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers – Africaine

The album was recorded on November 10, 1959, but not first released until 1979. The session was Shorter's first record date with The Jazz Messengers and featured two of his compositions: "Africaine" and "Lester Left Town."

Lee Morgan (trumpet), Wayne Shorter (tenor saxophone), Walter Davis Jr. (piano), Jymie Merritt (bass), Dizzy Reece (congas), Art Blakey (drums)

How It Works


Become A Member

Sign up for Blue Note Review and create a member profile to secure your limited edition set. You’ll be the first to receive each Volume.

We’ll be in touch

We’ll keep you up to date on each uniquely curated Volume. You will get details about what to expect approximately 3-4 weeks before the release of each set.

Your set is on its way

You will be notified when your Blue Note Review is ready to ship. Upon shipment, you’ll receive tracking information and your credit card will be charged $200 for the Volume.

The Box Set: Each Volume of the Blue Note Review is curated by musician, producer and Blue Note President Don Was to provide an unparalleled multi-sensory experience. The foundation of each Blue Note Review is the music. Each Volume will contain a collection of new recordings from the finest musicians in jazz plus timeless treasures from the Blue Note vaults. Blue Note Review aims to provide the ultimate jazz experience, a physical extension of the enduringly hip Blue Note aesthetic to adorn the ears, eyes, and mind.

Exclusivity: The new music within will only be available in the Review, it won’t be found on streaming services or digital download sites, and none of the items contained in the set will be sold separately. Quantities are limited, once they’re gone, they’re gone forever!